Early Morning Wake Up

Version 2

My phone alarm went off at 6am. It was still dark outside. I thought it was the middle of the night. I was going to mute the ringer thinking it was someone from California who forgot I lived in a different time zone. Then I thought it could be a family member in trouble so I better answer it. Then I realized it was the alarm I set last night. All this thinking and adrenaline in less than 5 seconds definitely woke me up.

Before going to bed I prepared the coffee and set it to start brewing at 6am. This is a great invention on a coffee maker. Especially for those of us whose brains don’t function well when we are forced to get up at an indecent hour. Before I had access to such a wonderful feature – useful in the wee hours of the morning – I have found myself waiting for the coffee because I forgot to add the water, or I put the water in the carafe instead of the maker, or I forgot to turn on the maker.

Now don’t start judging me all you early birds. I’m determined to join the flock.

In my pursuit of full time employment I’ve realized that I will probably be working something like 8 to 5, so I’m training my body and my mind. Today was the first day. My goal was to be ready to walk out the door at 7:30.

I did good. I was ready at 7:25. I thought about getting in the car and going somewhere like the grocery store to see if my mind would function as well as my body seemed to be doing. Nah, that might be pushing it. From what I remember about training you need to start slowly and build up to more weights and repetitions. So I settled into my rocking chair and spent more time reading and praying.

An hour later I got in my car and went to Lowes and Ace Hardware to finally get the items needed to clear my 6 month-old to-do list of household fixes. Wow, I was truly surprised by the traffic. Hardly anybody was in the stores, but there sure were a lot of cars on the roads. It was about 8:30. Does this mean most people start work at 9? I like that better than starting at 8.

As I was driving home I was thinking to myself I could do this – get up early, have time for reading and prayer and be ready to get out the door by 7:30. Then my stomach starting gurgling. I was hungry. I forgot to eat breakfast. Hmm, I need to make time for that too and then there’s lunch. I could make my lunch the night before, maybe even my breakfast? I wish Mr. Coffee would make a breakfast maker with a timer.

All of this training because I have a job interview for an administrative assistant position at a bank in their mortgage operations department. I’ve been given this opportunity through a job placement agency and they have other possible jobs and interviews waiting for me. There is so much to do to get ready. Do my business attire clothes still fit? What about shoes? Could I really work in heels all day? Is it time to go flat or almost flat? Do I need to start getting my nails done?

The first thing I need to do is work up to not needing a nap because I’ve started my day so early.

Let me just fantasize for a moment…

Instead of working for a large highly structured corporation I’m working for an entrepreneurial-spirited-millennial who was raised by hippies in a commune and doesn’t believe in business attire or getting your nails done. The office is located upstairs in an historic building with a cozy café downstairs that serves delicious and healthy food, thereby I don’t have to eat breakfast at home or bring my lunch. My job is a combination of interaction with people and a computer. I’ve caught the vision of the visionary and I can articulate it and implement it. The work is all about making the world a better place to live and it utilizes all my gifts and talents in a creative process. I’m so excited to go to work that getting up at 6am is a breeze and I never want to nap.

It’s possible. I’m hopeful.

I think I will turn this fantasy into a prayer with maybe a few tweaks. Why not? Jesus said we could ask anything in His name and He would do it, then the Father would be glorified in the Son. (John 14:13-14)

I’m in training, starting slowly and working up to more weights and repetitions. Starting with a prayer and a 6am wake up.

One thought on “Early Morning Wake Up

  1. Your blog made me smile. I love that you are setting your alarm clock so you can train yourself to get up for when you get your dream job. Love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

